1677 Jacob de Jonge founded the first pharmacy in the then city, called Memel, on Friedrich-Wilhelm Street 27/28 (now Tiltų St. 6). This complex of buildings are characterised by historic stylistics. The building of the Green Pharmacy is a compact, two-storey building with an attic, a basement and fragments of earlier spaces, covered with a gabled roof.
Build in XIX mid. II part and restored in 1978-1979. Building was restored after 1854 fire, and worked as Green pharmacy (“Grune Apotheke”). First pharmacy worked in this place until World War II. After war it was vegetable store. In 1981 it was restored to pharmacy with the old interior.
How “Green pharmacy” got it’s name? The pharmacy wasn’t selling just pills and tinctures but also different kind of herbs with healing abilities.
From 2007 pharmacy has not been operating.
There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.