The Louise neighbourhood stretches along this bank of the Dangė River. It’s located between Kretingos, Panevėžio, Anykščių, and Pievų Streets and North Avenue. The neighbourhood is named after the Louise Estate, which, from the late 18th century, owned most of these lands. The residential area is predominantly made up of private houses, with an increasing number of newly built apartment blocks. One of the more notable highlights is St. Casimir’s parish, founded in 1992, with its church built in 2007 on the site of the former Royal Grove. The church has an interesting shape, which resembles that of a ship, and three towers that connect the different parts of the church and symbolise the fundamental values of Christianity – faith, hope, and love. In 2016, a modern stained-glass window, probably the largest in Lithuania, was consecrated in the church. It measures 11 metres high and 4.5 metres wide. The stained glass was created by Prof. Kazys Morkūnas and his student Eglė Valiūtė.
Being here gives us the chance to remember the Royal Grove. We know that Memel was the capital of Prussia at the beginning of the 19th century and served as the residence of the Prussian royal family from January 1807 to January 1808. However, this was the site of not the first, but the second visit of the royal couple – King Frederick William III of Prussia and his beautiful wife Louise first visited Memel in 1802, when they met their then-ally, Emperor Alexander I of Russia. On 8th July, the royal couple arrived from Königsberg via the Curonian Spit and stayed in the house of a Danish merchant and consul Lorck. The building is now the Klaipėda Town Hall. Interestingly, the Prussian–Russian alliance against Napoleon was strongly supported by the people of Klaipėda at the time; they hoped that the horrors of war wouldn’t reach their city. The famous chronicler Johann Sembritzki wrote that Rychert, a town and seaside greenery inspector, planted young trees at the meeting place of the two monarchs, which later formed the so-called Royal Grove. Fragments of the Royal Grove can still be found in the park in front of the church, at the intersection of Kretingos and Panevėžio Streets.