The Church of Blessed Virgin Mary, Queen of Peace is a rarity in the Baltic States, as it is the only Catholic church built during the Soviet era (1957–1960), when the authorities were trying to suppress the Catholic faith. The history of the church is truly extraordinary, as, within a few years following the construction, the church was expropriated by the Soviet authorities: in 1963, the tower and altars were demolished, and the Philharmonic Hall was installed. It was not until 1988 that believers regained their house of worship. Appointed as a rector and dean, Monsignor B. Burneikis had the church and rectory repaired, the tower rebuilt and a 3-ton bell cast. The church has a rectangular layout, one tower and three naves. The fence of the churchyard is stone masonry decorated with the sculptures of an angel and St Florian, the patron saint of firefighters. Monsignor B. Burneikis, the builder of the church, and the priests H. Shultz and J. Rudzinskas are buried in the churchyard.
Today the residents and guests of the city have the opportunity to climb to the 46.5-meter high tower of the church. Individual tours are organised for this purpose as well. Use this opportunity to see not only the architecture of the church, but a panoramic view of the city as well.
Address: Rumpiškės g. 6, Klaipėda
There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.